a moment

The dream was the same as always.

She was standing there next to a boat in the middle of the lake.  No shoes, no ripples on the surface.  The water wicked up the pink hem of her dress, turning it a duller, darker color.

She tilted her head and looked at me like a questioning child, though she was a grown woman.  A sliver of a smile crept across her lips for just a moment, though her eyes remained sad.

I woke with another headache.  The doctors had predicted the headaches, but made no mention of the dreams.

34 responses

  1. Very nice…I’d enjoy it a lot more if I hadn’t (really) woke with another headache. Dammit. I’ll be re-starting the Deadly Sins series in just a bit…I always look forward to your entries.

    • sorry to hear about your headache. i get those if i eat my ice cream too fast…

      looking forward to resuming the deadly sins – though i don’t have anything written (or drawn) yet for vanity

          • I know….I mean, that’s what I’ve heard…Um, I mean…well…never mind. I always invite you to my events, Dave. Wouldn’t be a party without you…I need someone big and strong to scoop out my ice cream.

            If you want to know the honest-to-God truth, I have never tasted Ben & Jerry’s (shhhhh…don’t tell Lenore). I wrote that piece of fluff while staring at a flavor chart I pilfered from the interwebz…but I am no stranger to ice cream, or peanut butter cups or doughnuts.

  2. I like this. And the funny thing is that I woke up with a headache this morning. I still have it. A migraine that even a carafe of coffee hasn’t touched. That said, I liked the imagery and feel of the piece.

Leave a Reply

