Will Who’s Dog What?

Holy Crap! It’s day 8 of the Dog Days of Summer challenge. Anybody else sick of dog jokes? Tough kibble, bitches, we aint done yet. Today’s famous pooch is Will Riker’s Dog Blacktoe. Am I the only one who wonders who Will Riker is and by extension who Blacktoe is? As with the dog from Harry Potter, I had to consult with Google to find out. It turns out Will Riker is a character on “Star Trek MXXXVIII – The Lost Galaxy of Hooo-Kayres”. For those of you who didn’t already know this, I abhor most anything related to outer space fiction. If it has the word “star” in the title, I’ve probably never seen it. I’m a true blogging soldier though, and wrote the following piece anyway.

Apparently, this is Will Riker.  Even if I did watch space fiction, I don't think I could look at that mug for too long.  He has the smug, quasi intellectual look of a guy who teaches romance languages down at the community college.  I imagine his dog has that "cat turds won't melt in my mouth" look.  (Image from en dot Wikipedia dot org)
Apparently, this is Will Riker. Even if I did watch space fiction, I don’t think I could look at that mug for too long. He has the smug, quasi intellectual look of a guy who teaches romance languages down at the community college. I imagine his dog also has that “cat turds won’t melt in my mouth” look. (Image from en dot Wikipedia dot org)

We were on vacation in the mountains of Vaaldor9 in the Pixan Galaxy. It’s nice, though in truth I prefer taking my walks on the George Jetson Memorial Treadmill on the Enterprise. Anyway, I bump into a couple of mutts on the trail, and we introduce ourselves – you know, the usual butt sniffing routine.

I tell them I’m Blacktoe and see it doesn’t register with them.

“You know” I say, “Will Riker’s Blacktoe!”.

Both still looked at me like I was speaking cat or something. Even in the boondocks of Vaaldor9, surely they’d heard of the Enterprise. I finally give up on them and went on my way.

Typical Shatner fans.

I’m not the only person writing these gems.  These bloggers are too, some of them may even know who Will Riker is.

Blogdramedy

Steve Betz

Joe’s Musings

MC’s Whispers

Shouts From The Abyss

H. E. Ellis

Lenore Diane

Fix It Or Deal

…and of course, yours truly, 1 Point Perspective, blogger and bon vivant.  I don’t know what a bon vivant is, but it sounded kind of sophisticated, so I went with it.

22 thoughts on “Will Who’s Dog What?

  1. I’ve *liked* this only because (and even though it’s getting pretty deep in “our” barn)…I’ve taken off my barn boots, put my smelly feeted-socks up on a bale of hay…and wait for you to come and finish your half of the chores…..

    1. Doing my chores is a small price to pay for your “like”. By the way, I’ve yet to comment on your recent post only because my internet connection is sporadic at best, here on the rugged coast.

  2. You did a Shatner joke? You really ARE awesomesauce over a bowl of Fruit Loops.

    Two days to go. Two days to go. Two…gotta run. Animal control just pulled in the drive.

  3. Shatner probably had cats.

    You know, many ladyfriends of my acquaintance back in the day thought Will Riker was quite the dreamboat.

    I like the “DON’T THEY KNOW WHO I AM?” aspect of probably the most obscure dog on the list. 🙂

  4. I love all things space, am a huge fan of Star Trek in all its iterations, and write sci-fi stories, but “The Lost Galaxy of Hooo-Kayres” cracked me up just the same!
    And “Shatner fans.” Beautiful!

  5. I watched this show when it was on, and I don’t remember Riker having a dog. Data had a cat, though. I feel like a character in a story who’s found herself in an alternate universe where everything is exactly the same except for the fictional pets that appeared on TV shows. It’s a little scary.

  6. I actually watched a few dozen series of whatever Star Trek that had Riker and Picard (but not any other ST). I know very well who Riker is. Yet I had no idea he even had a dog.

Leave a Reply

